A Message from our Principal – April 1, 2020


Dear Students and Parents,

One of our beloved teachers, Sandra Santos-Vizcaino, passed away last night. This is a tragedy for the PS9 students, staff and the entire school community.

Our Crisis Response Team will be available remotely to provide support to our students and staff. PS9 School Counselor and the school’s Parent Coordinator have been in communication with students and staff to check in with them, and to provide support and resources.

Grief Counselors and our School Counselors will also be available by telephone and remotely.

Thank you for your support during this difficult time.
Fatimah Ali
Principal

 

For immediate support please contact:

Megan Dunn, Superintendent Support Team
mdunn6@schools.nyc.gov
(347) 433-7885

Karen Shaw-Taylor, Guidance Counselor
KShaw@schools.nyc.gov, (347) 467-6625

Anne Kner, School Social Worker
AKner@schools.nyc.gov,

 

Below is a list of additional grief supports outside of the school community that we
have coordinated during this difficult time:

Calvary Hospital Bereavement Support (Brooklyn)
Abby R. Spilka, MA, CT, MHC-LP, Bereavement Counselor
Cell: 917-574-6879
Email: aspilka@calvaryhospital.org

New York Psychotherapy and Counseling Center
Community Counseling and Mediation
810 Classon Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11238
Site: 718-230-5100
Intake: 718-802-0666

Brooklyn Counseling Services (BCS)
26 Court Street
Brooklyn, NY 11242
718-331-8857

NYPCC Child & Family Mental Health Centers
102 Pilling Street, Bushwick, NY
(718) 602-1000
CMBushwick@nypcc.org

2857 Linden Boulevard, East New York, NY
(718) 235-3100
CMLinden@nypcc.org

Call NYC Well Today
1-888-NYC-WELL (1-888-692-9355)
NYC Well is your connection to free, confidential mental health support. Speak to a
counselor via phone, text, or chat and get access to mental health and substance use
services, in more than 200 languages, 24/7/365.

• For Relay Service for Deaf/Hard of Hearing: Call 711
• Español: Press 3
• 中文: Press 4

Interpreters are available for 200+ languages. Stay on the line, and you will be
connected with a counselor who can connect you to translator services. NYC Well
Counselors are trained to accept calls from deaf and hard of hearing individuals using
video relay services.

Support Resources for Children and Families